The Mechanics of the 50 Cent Hook

I bring up 50 again because to me his ability to structure his music is something I believe listeners inherently pick up on but is rarely discussed.  More than anything, his ability to make great hooks is what sets him apart from most artists.  Along with great production, it’s what carried Get Rich or Die Trying as an album.  On that album he had five singles, four of which he was on the hook for.  Here are the hooks:

In Da Club:

You can find me in the club, bottle full of bub'
Look mami I got the X if you into takin drugs
I'm into havin sex, I ain't into makin love
So come gimme a hug, if you're into gettin rubbed

If I Can’t:

If I can't do it, homey, it can't be done
Now I'ma let the champagne bottle pop
I'ma take it to the top
Fo sho I'ma make it hot

Wanksta:

You said you a gangsta but you neva pop nuttin
You said you a wanksta and you need to stop frontin'
You go to the dealership but you neva cop nuttin'
You been hustlin a long time and you ain't got nuttin

P.I.M.P:

I don't know what you heard about me
But a bitch can't get a dollar out of me
No Cadillac, no perms, you can't see
That I'm a motherfucking P-I-M-P

Notice that first and foremost, all of these hooks are four bars in length. The End Pairs Even value is 62.5% which means he’s doing a great job of keeping rhyming bars very close to each other in length.  He maintains his low syllable per word count here  with an average of 1.25 syllables/word.  50 Cent seems to make sure he rhymes the heck out the ending of each line in his hooks with his Average End Score of 7.23 (which measures the average similarity score of the final rhyme on each line based on a probability score).

So, constructing the 50 cent hook is like this:

  1. Make it 4 bars in length.
  2. Keep rhyming bars similar to each other in length.
  3. Make sure you have a nice rhyming multi at the end.
  4. Keep your syllables/word low.

That’s it!  It helps if you’re talented as heck and have one of the best production teams ever behind you too.

7 thoughts on “The Mechanics of the 50 Cent Hook

  1. Harrison says:

    Nice! I was wondering if you can show us more albums with data for each track (like you did for the Marshall Mathers LP and Ghostface)… maybe Relapse or Recovery? Or make one about the songs with the highest rhyme densities?

    • rapmetrics says:

      Yeah, doing song by song is lots of work. I’ve just started doing it by albums. Although there’s a lot of interesting info to be gained from song-by-song analysis. Glad you liked the article!

  2. Hussein Membrane says:

    Does the music matter? Is it a given that highscoring lyrical content will work with any production?

  3. Hussein Membrane says:

    How do you quantify the beat? There are many songs with great music that have terrible lyrics, like on Dr Dre’s Tha Chronic album, that are still enjoyable. Is there a metric to account for this facet of rap music? Can you take say Jkwon and put him on Let Me Ride or set Cam’ron to a metronome and in either case make things work and if so is there any way to objectively quantify this concept? Shall we state that the hook is part of the beat content and not part of lyrical content if sung? How about if the chorus portion of the music is repetetive but has different lyrics each time? Just wondering, great blogs.

    • rapmetrics says:

      No we can’t quantify the beat and we don’t aim to. We deal with what we can quantify and try to find what listeners are responding to. The goal here is to add another layer to the music listening experience and not replace it.

  4. ebutemeta says:

    Nice info, helpful. Could u pls tell me abt Drake’s mechanics for hooks?

Leave a Reply

